RyeCentral Lab: reviews here earn points — your first is worth 100 pts + $10 credit, five stars or one. Sign in & earn
Skip to product information
1 of 1

Pursuit United Rye Review

Pursuit United Rye Review
Skip to product information
1 of 1
3.7 /5
Community Score
Based on 11 ratings
Rye SpiceToasted OakBlack PepperCaramelBrown SugarClove
Regular price $67.99
Regular price Sale price $67.99
Sale Sold out

Where to buy Pursuit United Rye — compare online retailers and find local stores near you.

WHERE TO BUY — ONLINE & LOCAL
Loading buying options…
Guide Price: $65 – $75
Home Rye Whiskey Reviews Pursuit Spirits Pursuit United Rye Review

Quick Facts

Type
Blend of Straight Rye Whiskeys
Proof / ABV
108 proof / 54%
Age
No age statement (components 4–7 yrs)
Mash Bill
Three mash bills: 95% rye ×2, plus 52% rye / 43% corn
Price Range
$65 – $75
Brand
Pursuit Spirits, Louisville, Kentucky
⚠️ Check the label before you buy. Pursuit now sells three ryes from this same blend: an 88-proof version, this 108-proof version, and a Barrel Proof. Since the 2025 redesign all three carry the words “Triple Batch Rye” on the front. This review covers the 108 proof bottle only — and Pursuit’s own site now lists it as gift shop only, so remaining retail stock is what is left in the channel.

Is This For Me?

✅ You'll love this if…

You are a bourbon drinker curious about rye — this was engineered for exactly that, and reviewers say so almost unanimously. You want sweetness and spice in the same glass rather than a one-note spice bomb. And you value transparency: the label names both source distilleries, all three mash bills and the batch code, which is rarer than it should be.

⛔ Maybe skip if…

You want the dill-and-caraway signature of a classic Maryland or MGP rye — neither descriptor appears in a single one of our eleven sources. You want batch-to-batch consistency: the blend recipe has genuinely changed between releases. Or you want easy availability, which this no longer has.

Flavor Profile at a Glance

Sweetness

7
Rye Spice

7
Herbal / Mint

5
Fruit

6
Oak / Vanilla

7
Body

7
Heat

5
Finish Length

7

What It Tastes Like

👃

Nose

Brown sugar leads, wrapped in baking spice and cinnamon, with green apple, a cool thread of mint, soft vanilla and a lift of citrus peel.

👅

Palate

Rye spice arrives first and stays, over toasted oak, burnt caramel and more brown sugar, with black pepper and clove sharpening the edges.

🔥

Finish

Medium-long and warming. Clove and black pepper build against lingering caramel, with toasted oak and dry rye spice closing it out.

Best Ways to Enjoy

🥃

Neat

Genuinely easy for 108 proof. Reviewers repeatedly call it “surprisingly easy drinking” and “proofed just right” — the corn-heavy component does real work here.

💧

With Water

A few drops open the citrus and mint on the nose. Go further and you start to lose the viscous mouthfeel that several reviewers single out as a strength.

🧊

On Ice

Holds up well. At 54% ABV there is enough body to survive dilution, and the chill pushes the apple and citrus forward.

🍹

Cocktail

Excellent. Proof and sweetness both sit where a stirred drink wants them, and the spice survives vermouth and bitters intact.

Cocktail Scores

Manhattan
★★★★★
Old Fashioned
★★★★☆
Whiskey Sour
★★★★☆
Boulevardier
★★★★☆
💡 Pro Tip: This is a Manhattan rye first and foremost — 108 proof carries sweet vermouth without disappearing, and the clove and baking-spice notes read like built-in aromatic bitters. Cut your simple syrup by a third in an Old Fashioned; the brown sugar is already there.

Price & Value

$65 – $75
750ml · MSRP $65 · widely listed near $68

At sixty-five to seventy dollars you are paying for blending rather than branding, and for whiskey that is genuinely four to seven years old from two named distilleries. That is a fair deal on paper, and most reviewers agreed — “value” shows up in the plus column repeatedly. The complication is availability: the 108-proof bottling has been pushed to gift-shop-only distribution, which means the price you see is increasingly whatever the remaining channel stock asks rather than a stable shelf price. Pay MSRP if you can find it, walk away well north of that, and compare against the rest of our mid-priced rye whiskey collection before you stretch.

Bottle Transparency

  • ProducerPursuit Spirits, LLC, 722 W. Main Street, Louisville, Kentucky. Founded 2018 by Kenny Coleman and Ryan Cecil of the Bourbon Pursuit podcast. A non-distilling producer — Pursuit blends, it does not distil this whiskey.
  • DistilleriesBardstown Bourbon Company (Kentucky) and Sagamore Spirit (Maryland). Both named on the label — unusually candid for a sourced blend.
  • Mash billsThree, all disclosed: Bardstown 95% rye / 5% malted barley; Sagamore 95% rye / 5% malted barley; Sagamore 52% rye / 43% corn / 5% malted barley. The blending percentages are not disclosed.
  • AgeNo age statement. Pursuit states components run four to seven years old. For the first batch, Malt Review was told the youngest was three years eight months and the oldest four years seven months.
  • BatchingEvery bottle carries a batch code (7CC, 10CF and so on). Batch 1 was nine barrels and 2,076 bottles; the brand has scaled up substantially since. The blend recipe is not fixed between batches.
  • FiltrationNon-chill filtered for the original release, as stated in the launch press materials. Pursuit does not publish a current filtration statement for later batches.
  • AvailabilityPursuit’s own product page for the 108 currently marks it “Gift Shop Only.” The 88-proof and Barrel Proof siblings carry the general distribution.

Full Review: Pursuit United Rye

KL
Kevin Lawton
Founder & Lead Reviewer, RyeCentral

Kenny Coleman and Ryan Cecil spent years interviewing distillers on the Bourbon Pursuit podcast before deciding to make whiskey themselves. What they built is not a distillery — it is a blending house, and Pursuit United Rye is the clearest statement of what that means. Three rye whiskeys, three mash bills, two distilleries, two states, one bottle, and all of it printed on the label. In a category where “sourced” is usually a word brands work hard to avoid saying, that candour is the first thing worth noting.

The Blend Is the Whole Point

Eighty per cent of American rye on shelves today comes from a single Indiana factory, and Pursuit deliberately went elsewhere. Two of the three components are 95% rye and 5% malted barley — one from Bardstown Bourbon Company in Kentucky, one from Sagamore Spirit in Maryland. The third, also Sagamore, is a 52% rye with 43% corn, the old “barely legal” Baltimore style. Cecil has said publicly that the 108-proof blend leans on that corn-heavy component precisely because it makes a high-proof rye approachable. Every reviewer who tasted this blind-ish arrived at the same phrase independently: a bourbon drinker’s rye.

That is worth taking seriously as a description rather than a compliment or an insult. If you have come looking for the MGP 95/5 profile that defines the modern rye shelf — sharp dill, hard pepper, cool mint — this is not it, and our Bulleit 95 Rye page is the better starting point. Dill does not appear in a single one of our eleven sources. Neither does caraway. On an American rye that is a genuine absence, not an oversight, and it tells you exactly which direction this blend was pointed.

What the Batches Actually Change

This is where buyers get caught. Pursuit batches this whiskey and prints the code on the bottle, which is admirable, but the recipe genuinely moves. Breaking Bourbon reviewed the first release and then Batch 7CC and found that 7CC had dropped one of the two 95/5 components altogether. Their read on the difference is consistent with the rest of our pool: the first batch reads fruitier and easier, later batches read spicier and bolder. The one thing that has not moved is proof — every batch of this expression is 108. Our tasting notes lean on the common ground across batches, and if you want a rye that tastes identical every time, Wild Turkey Rare Breed Rye is the more predictable pour at a similar intensity.

The Availability Problem

In 2025 Pursuit redesigned the whole United line and added two new proof points: an 88-proof version at around forty dollars and a Barrel Proof that has run as high as 121.8. All three now say “Triple Batch Rye” on the front, and all three use the same three mash bills in different proportions. In the reshuffle the 108 — the original, the one that won Double Gold at San Francisco and Platinum at ASCOT, the one every review in our pool is actually about — was moved to gift-shop-only distribution. It is still findable online while channel stock lasts. It is no longer a bottle you will stumble across in a shop, and that is a real mark against recommending it without qualification.

Our Verdict

A well-made, genuinely transparent, unusually well-balanced blend that does what it set out to do: give a bourbon palate a rye it can enjoy at full strength. The sweetness is real, the spice is real, and at 108 proof it manages both without heat getting in the way. It is not a rye purist’s rye, it is not consistent between batches, and it is now awkward to buy — three caveats that keep it short of a blanket recommendation. If the profile appeals but you want something you can actually find, New Riff Bottled in Bond Rye covers similar ground with steadier supply.

Community Tasting Notes

Community Score

Read this figure carefully. It rests on eleven independent published reviews and essentially no crowd pool — we could not verify a single named consumer rating count for this bottle anywhere, which is unusual and is itself a finding about how limited its distribution has been. Drop the most generous source and the score barely moves, so the pool is tight. It is also uniformly positive: no reviewer we found disliked it, and the spread is driven more by how different outlets scale their scores than by disagreement about the whiskey.

Top Reported Flavors

Rating Distribution

5★

9%
4★

64%
3★

27%
2★

0%
1★

0%

Tried Pursuit United Rye? Share Your Tasting Notes

Join the RyeCentral community and help other whiskey lovers discover new favorites. Your review connects taste profiles with the perfect pour.

Write a Review

🎁 Whiskey Review Rewards

🎁

$10 Gift Voucher — Every Review

Write a real tasting review and we'll send you a $10 digital gift voucher for barware and whiskey accessories on the store. Your honest notes help fellow rye lovers discover new favorites.

"At RyeCentral, we never pay for positive reviews — honest, unbiased opinions matter."

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Exceptional transparency — both distilleries, all three mash bills and the batch code on the label
  • Balances sweetness and rye spice unusually well; every source lands on the same read
  • Drinks far easier than 108 proof suggests, with real viscous body behind it
  • Not MGP — a genuinely different profile from the rye that dominates the shelf
  • Components are four to seven years old, not a young sourced blend
  • Double Gold at San Francisco World Spirits and Platinum at the ASCOT Awards

Cons

  • Now gift-shop-only from the brand — increasingly hard to buy at a sane price
  • The blend recipe changes between batches; Batch 7CC dropped a whole component
  • No dill, no caraway — rye traditionalists will find it tame
  • Easy to confuse on the shelf with the 88-proof and Barrel Proof siblings
  • Blending percentages are not disclosed, only the mash bills themselves
  • Almost no verified consumer rating pool exists to check the critics against

Frequently Asked Questions

❓ What proof is Pursuit United Rye?

108 proof, or 54% ABV, and that has held across every batch of this expression. Be careful though: Pursuit also sells an 88-proof version of the same blend and a Barrel Proof that has been released as high as 121.8. Since the 2025 redesign all three carry similar “Triple Batch Rye” labelling, so check the proof on the front before you buy.

❓ Who distills Pursuit United Rye?

Pursuit does not distil it. The whiskey comes from Bardstown Bourbon Company in Kentucky and Sagamore Spirit in Maryland, and Pursuit Spirits blends and bottles it in Louisville. Both distilleries are named on the label, which is far more disclosure than most sourced blends offer.

❓ What is the mash bill?

There are three. Bardstown contributes a 95% rye with 5% malted barley; Sagamore contributes both a 95% rye with 5% malted barley and a 52% rye with 43% corn and 5% malted barley. The proportions of each in the blend are not published, though Pursuit has said the 108 leans on the corn-heavy recipe.

❓ How old is Pursuit United Rye?

There is no age statement. Pursuit says the component whiskeys run four to seven years old, and because it is labelled a blend of straight ryes the legal floor is two years with no neutral spirits added. For the very first batch, the youngest component was three years eight months and the oldest four years seven months.

❓ Does it taste like a typical rye whiskey?

No, and deliberately so. Reviewers almost unanimously call it “a bourbon drinker’s rye” — sweeter and rounder than the MGP 95/5 profile most people associate with the category. Notably, dill and caraway, the classic rye markers, do not appear in any of the eleven sources we checked.

❓ Do the batches taste different?

Yes, somewhat. Pursuit prints a batch code on every bottle and the blend is rebuilt each time — Batch 7CC dropped one of the two 95% rye components entirely compared with the first release. The general pattern is that earlier batches read fruitier and later ones spicier. Proof stays at 108 throughout, and no reviewer we found rated one batch materially better than another.

❓ Is Pursuit United Rye still available?

Not easily. Pursuit’s own site now lists the 108-proof bottling as gift shop only, meaning it is sold at the distillery rather than through general distribution. Some online retailers still hold stock. The 88-proof and Barrel Proof versions have taken over the wider market, so if you want this specific whiskey, buy it when you see it.
Disclaimer: RyeCentral does not sell alcohol. We publish independent rye whiskey reviews, ratings, and community tasting notes to help you choose a bottle to buy elsewhere. Every review follows our Community Score Pipeline — an eight-step process for producing accurate, unbiased content.
Last updated: September 10, 2026 — Kevin Lawton
View full details

Quality You Can Trust

Every rye whiskey review on RyeCentral is written by real enthusiasts no brand sponsorships, no marketing fluff. We break down tasting notes, proof, mashbill, and value so you can find your next favorite bottle with confidence. Whether you're searching for the best rye whiskey for beginners, a top-shelf sipper, or the best rye for cocktails, our community-rated reviews help you decide before you buy.

Beyond reviews, explore our handpicked best whiskey barware and gifts for whiskey lovers. Want a personalized recommendation? Ask RyeLeigh, our AI whiskey concierge, to match you with the perfect rye based on your flavor preferences or find the ideal gift for the whiskey fan in your life.

RyeCentral Lab

Tasted it? Get ranked for it.

Every review earns Lab points — climb the ladder from All Rye to Rye Legend. Your first review earns 100 points and $10 store credit — five stars or one.